Highway Companion

14  [全12曲] 2006, American Recordings 

Tom Petty (solo)

プロデュースに再び Jeff Lynne を迎えてのニュー・アルバム。とはいえ、Jeff Lynne 色はさほど強くはなく、TP 主導による文字通りのソロ作という印象です。

演奏は TP、Mike、Lynne の 3名のみの参加で、一部楽曲では TP がドラムスまで担当しています。アコースティック主体という訳ではありませんが、シンプルかつ落ち着いた雰囲気が漂います。

recording data

  • musicianTom Petty(lead vocal, rhythm guitar, drums, backing vocals, harmonica, electric piano on “Night Driver,” bass on “Square One,” lead guitar and keyboards on “Jack”)
  • musicianMike Campbell(lead guitar, vibraphone on “The Golden Rose”)
  • musicianJeff Lynne(bass, rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals, autoharp on “Ankle Deep”) 
  • produce  Jeff Lynne, Tom Petty and Mike Campbell
  • recorded at Bungalow Palace and Shoreline Recorders, Los Angeles, CA
  • recorded and mixed by Ryan Ulyate 
  • all songs by Tom Petty

release info

  • USA 2006年7月25日 American Recordings (CD)
  • EU  2006年9362-44285-2(CD)
  • JPN  2006年8月2日 ワーナーミュージック・ジャパン
     WPCR-12368(CD)邦題: 『ハイウェイ・コンパニオン』 解説: 大友博
  • 『special edition』[reissued in expanded form]
    2007年6月5日 American Recordings/Warner Bros100372-2(special edition CD)
    未発表曲 2曲(”Home” “Around the Roses”)、デモ 2曲収録。ポストカード 2枚付。

other info

  • sales GOLD (2009.2.3) / 430,000 (2007.4)
  • chart(US) #4 (2006.8.12)
  • US singles Saving Grace
  • music video Saving Grace
  • album cover painting Robert Deyber

track list

  1. Saving Grace
  2. Square One
  3. Flirting With Time
  4. Down South
  5. Jack
  6. Turn This Car Around
  7. Big Weekend
  8. Night Driver
  9. Damaged By Love
  10. This Old Town
  11. Ankle Deep
  12. The Golden Rose

bonus tracks (special edition)

  1. Home
  2. Around The Roses
  3. Big Weekend (demo version)
  4. This Old Town (demo version)